“A home away from home”
Sunday 26th of February 2017   Chennai

To start with the resort has a mind blowing view, which includes the morning sunrise with the chirping of the birds, it’s just lovely. The resort is located in close vicinity of Coakers Park and Kodai Lake. Right from the time of booking till the day me and my wife checked out, it was a warm feeling and staying in the resort made us think it as the second home. We had booked the signature suite and our first view of the room left us stunned. There was a sitting area with couches and a bedroom with a kingsize bed and attached bathroom. It even had a quaint little fireplace in the bedroom. Rooms are kept neat and tidy with all the basic amenities. The windows in the rooms are so clean that sometimes u feel like there is no glass at all. The blessing in disguise for the resort is the team, each and every one is soo friendly and they took care of our every needs. One thing is remarkable that the Guest handling skills of Mr. Shyam (GM), he is very friendly and helpful. We stayed there for 3 nights and within that period we became close to him and is our friend now .I have been to many hotels in different places but never seen a GM coming and talking to you on a daily basis. We stayed in the suite room(101) and had the best view. I can keep writing but wanna stick to important thing which wil help the visitors. One best place to stay in kodaikanal is Villa retreat. Personally felt like being at home with a warm environment. The staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. Breakfast was great as usual (a bit slow served though), but I understand that they have limited staff and a small kitchen and we are on holiday :). The smile on the face of everyone makes up for it though. The staff was very helpful in arranging for the tour and we had a lot of fun throughout the tour exploring kodai and its beauty. Before I end, it would be unfair if I dont mention a few thanks to, Prasad & the front desk team, Mani, Gopi & the service team and the security guard!

“Jst like what Trip Advisor shows in ads..."Don't stay just anywhere in Kodaikanal"..”
Saturday 4th of February 2017   Chennai

Villa Retreat.. probably the ideal place to stay at kodai if u r with ur family.. Its very close to coakers walk, both of them have a common entrance, so don't get confused when u reach the front gate.. :) Bryant part and Kodai lake is also near by.. all at walking distances.. we were there for 2 days.. Jan 26 and Jan 27.. and booked the classic room valley view room which gives excellent valley views.. From the reviews I had heard that room no 108 has great views and when I addressed this to the reservation team and requested to allocate the same for me, they were very generous to allot me the same.. :) Coming to room, the room was very neat and tidy with two windows, one opening out deep in to valley and the other gives u a distant view of Kodaikanal city.. During sunny days at early morning you can enjoy a heavenly feeling while sitting at the garden lawn with sun rays coming out of clouds.. but we were not lucky enough to see that as it was really foggy for the two days we stayed over there.. missed it.. but will come back again to enjoy it.. :) By the way the review just doesn't ends there, there's something which I cannot miss..it's the staff and then the food.. The staff were very attentive, helpful and courteous. Starting from Dominic who helped us with online reservation till Villa manager Shyam, a gentleman who comes out to talk to guests and finds happiness in answering their questions. The restaurant is another highlight.. They don't have an elaborate menu for the morning breakfast, but whatever is there in the menu will b made for you fresh and needless to say food was very tasty..we had lunch and dinner from there itself during our entire stay and the quality of food was really good..we enjoyed it.. Hotel has a decent car parking space too.. I was travelling with my wife n kid and overall we had a wonderful time at Kodai. Whenever we plan kodai trip again, definitely Villa retreat would be the first option to consider... would like to enjoy your services once again.. :) Stayed January 2017, travelled with family

“Home after home, an ideal destination at Kodaikonal”
Tuesday 3rd of January 2017   Bangalore

To be frank, I have no words to explain the beauty and the wide spectrum of sophisticated aspects of Villa Retreat. However, I will try to put forward some of my highlight observations during my long stay (8 nights) while this already being my second term at Villa Retreat. This place is an ideal destination for stay standing on top of the city with ease of access from the main road and very close proximity to beautiful spots. Villa Retreat should be proud to share the entrance with Coaker's walk which is a must visit place for all visitors, opposite to Bryant Park and in a distance with a very short walk to Kodai Lake and several other places to visit. Rooms have excellent view to the Kodai City and Valleys giving a very pleasant experience and adding peace and completeness to your money. Photos I uploaded can actually explain what I meant. Management and staff took utmost care and are focused to giving a home like feeling at this place. I cannot think of any other place besides Villa Retreat for stay @ Kodai. Two trips completed so far to Kodai while staying at Villa Retreat and many more to go. I am glad to be contacted for any guidance needed regarding this place.

“Hotel with the most perfect view in Kodaikanal!”
Wednesday 18th of January 2017   Chennai

I have been staying in Villa Retreat for the past five years and it truly has an outstanding view of the valley. The food is delicious.All I do when I go to Villa retreat is sit on their well manicured lawns, drink tea and watch the mist roll by. It is an idyllic place. The service was always good, it has gone to the next level since the arrival of Shyam the manager. He takes the time to talk to the guests and he truly is an added attraction. Looking forward to being back!

“A retreat in its true sense!”
Monday 23rd of January 2017   Chennai

Ever come back from a vacation that made you feel refreshed, happy, content, excited, relaxed and overjoyed? That's exactly how we feel after visiting Kodai's VILLA RETREAT:) The room: We stayed in the Valley View room and boy was it stunning! It took our breath away as we walked into the room! And just imagine waking up to that view! Wow! Food: simple home style cooking. You get good hygienic food with a great view as the restaurant opens to the valley view. Staff: Well behaved, attentive, forthcoming, helpful, warm, friendly, and went the extra mile. The Villa manager went out of his way and spared time to take us on this Caroselle Cheese tasting tour! An amazing experience! If you claim to be a foodie, you ought to try this Cheese tasting tour. The manager also took us on a tour around the villa grounds showing off the other rooms. We were taken good care of by all staff members and had a few very pleasant surprises while our stay :) The villa manager and his staff helped us picking the right brand of homemade chocolates to take back home. He also suggested a few very good restaurants around the area and true to his words, they were brilliant! What more could we have asked for??! We thoroughly enjoyed every bit of our stay and will be visiting them very soon with our family and friends. Thanks Villa Retreat and team! Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple

“Fantastic experience”
Friday 1st of July 2016   Bangalore

We had an amazing stay at Villa retreat. The resort is beautifully designed and landscaped, the reception area, dining area and the rooms are quite good and tastefully decorated. They served great food and the service was also very good. Looking forward to visit again, since the time we reached and checked in.

“Heavenly treat 4 our Soul @ Villa Retreat.”
Sunday 3rd of July 2016   Chennai

This was a my second trip to Kodai. The hotel is located adjacent to the Coakers walk entry and opposite to the Bryant park entrance. If you are coming by car, look for the signage (which is too small, the hotel ppl can opt for a more visible sign board). If you miss this entrance, taking U turn in that small road is bit tiring. (Most of the kodai roads are cramped now a days with double side parking and double way traffic....scary during week ends especially). That's the only toughest/ irritating part. Once U are in the resort.... u r in another world. We took a Classic Room Mini which was booked in advance through their website, Check in process was smooth. its a small cozy room with wooden flooring.... with mesmerising views of the valley and Kodaikanal. with most of the required facilities like, in room dining, full time hot water, LED TV with DTH , cupboards etc. apt for 2 ppl (honeymoon special ;). There is a restaurant inside the resort (food quality and spread was good). There is option for having food outside in the garden(table chairs are provided). We had breakfast there with valley view (u feel heavenly bliss). In the night it was too cold, so we had food in the restaurant. There is option for camp fire etc etc. Sitting in the lawn watching the valley ...cant explain in words... u need to feel for yourself. If you are planning for sightseeing, the resort will arrange that too. They have packages which you can customise and consume. Most of the sightseeing points are close to this resort. The reception area is good, with a small reading area/ play area etc where u will have wifi. (I didn't use it though). Around 10 cars can be parked in side the resort , no idea whether they have options for more. Heavenly treat @ Villa Retreat.

“"Soul Satisfying Getaway"”
Saturday 18th of June 2016   Chennai

Though wanted to write a review straightaway after staying in villa's classic valley view room for 3 days early June, I stopped to check myself whether it is just euphoria on my part or is this place really a treat on your much needed holiday.... Now after 2 weeks back to chaotic world we live in, I can truly believe the stay we had in villa retreat is the best of all holidays we have had till now... Having decided on going back to Kodaikanal for a break after 2 years, we remembered this cosy place tucked near croakers walk which we can view while taking a stroll in croakers and started enquiries regarding the same... Trip advisor has been very useful to circle this place... And we booked the same... Even though we had to cancel our trip due to personal reasons the staff in the hotel Especially Mr.Nazir Ahmed stopped us and advised to postpone... I feel blessed that I have taken his word otherwise I would have to missed to see The laughter, happiness and peace in my husband's face after the stay and my own content in the process. From the time their travel desk picked us from dingugal till the time they dropped us at Madurai... We had a truly friendly as well as professional interaction with the people there... The sightseeing trips they arranged for us are pocket friendly and well suited to individual requirements... All the drivers were knowledgeable, friendly and sensitive to needs.. Thanks to suresh, jai, ashok and mgr... Next the food is travellers paradise with break fast compensated with amount allocated to each room... The dishes are tasty, healthy and fresh... The option of dinning inside classy Victorian style restaurant or outside the beautiful lawn overlooking the gardens and clouds is a dream come true. After a long time we can feel the hygiene and freshness of the meat, veggies cooked to perfection without heavy oil content... The dishes Biriyani, chicken items, sandwiches can be highly recommended. Thanks to Suresh, chef and the team for checking for our requirements every now and then... Could not forget the way they used to respond quickly to our request for hot water, coffee etc... The con's may be limited menu and early closure of restaurant during night where you have to order early which may prove difficult for late eaters. Next regarding the rooms, there are different variety of rooms from deluxe to family rooms to suit to individual requirements... We stayed in classic room which owes the best views of Kodaikanal. Taking your coffee sitting in your room watching the mist covered mountains, clouds passing by, from your large French windows are sights which will leave your senses enthralled and makes you feel you are in a enchanting world alone with your partner. The rooms are compact but very clean, pristine, beautifully furnished with wood and looks very uncluttered. Kudos to the housekeeping staff... In case if the room is cold at night, the resort provides heaters for a negligible price. Thanks to Mr.Prabhu, Joseph the management team for their cordial Welcome, sensitive to issues faced and their faster rectification and sharing of knowledge. Last but not the least no words to write about the beautiful, enchanting lawn and garden with its multiple and varieties of flowers which adds colours in the cloudy vision. The gardener Mr.Selvam works hard for the effect, and he is so knowledgeable to impart us with much needed botanical knowledge. To summarize if you need a wonderful cosy stay with your partner in a friendly cordial environment close to main sights of Kodaikanal(lake, croakers walk, Byrant park) to eat sumptuous meals to satisfy your taste buds, to see clouds passing by..... Have a soul peace and rest, feeling refreshed when you are back from the trip... Don't search further.. Villa Retreat is the place for you......

Idyllic retreat!!!
Tuesday 17th of May 2016   Bangalore

I could not wait to review my stay here. It was an amazing experience. Inside the property, you could see lush greenery and beautifully decorated ambience.It is just beside the coakers walk, one of the tourist attraction point, so to my opinion if u stay here u can experience the view from the hotel backyard lawn itself.The hotel is located approx 600ms from the Bus stand so you could easily walk the distance.The staffs are very courteous, polite and helpful.I would specially mention the name of Nasir in the reception, who was very cooperative. Coming to the dining part the kitchen is very slow..you need to have 1 hour time in hand to have your food served at your table.But again to mention the food was yummy!! I still cannot forget the taste of the 3 different Chatnis served with Dosa. Overall I would definitely like to book this hotel for my next visit in Kodai. Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple

"Valley,View and Villa Retreat!"
Monday 25th of April 2016   Bangalore

Just back from a short and really sweet trip to Kodaikanal. We had booked this place based on previous stay experience from my sister and her family. This place captures the essence of Kodai, one can just sit on the beautiful bench in their garden and spend their whole day looking at clouds making shapes. Service from staff is excellent, they made sure that all our requests were taken care of , special thanks to Joseph, Prasad and Prabhu. As soon as we landed we made our way to Astoria restaurant near to the bus stand and we attacked food as if there was no tomorrow but it was worth every penny. Staff there too served us with all enthusiasm though they were running full. We were eight of us and each of us had different demands. Sambhar made a way to our hearts from stomach and the taste stayed with us till we were back. Few points on hotel and rooms: 1) Deluxe rooms with balcony does not make any difference so one can go ahead with deluxe rooms. Balcony view is of another hotel which can be skipped. 2) Make sure that you check in near 12 pm as the rooms take time to be allotted but they have cloak room which is very comfortable for long wait. 3) Excellent accessibility to market and lake 4) Hotel provided us the day trip for sightseeing and even there the quality of vehicle and driver was very good. 5) We had dinner and breakfast, food was superb, special mention for Chef James. Stayed April 2016, travelled with friends